IS CBD Haram or Halal?

Affiliate Disclosure-Keep in mind that we may receive commissions when you click our links and make purchase. However, this does not impact our reviews and comparisons. We try our best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.

Contents

Top 10 Newbie Friendly
Cannabis Seeds

  • Are you going to start growing for the first time?
  • Have you previously have had subpar growing results?


If so, check out this list ASAP!

    We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Cannabinoids, Hemp Oil and Islam

    Previously, I examined whether or not smoking weed is a sin according to the Christian religion. Additionally, an article was written that examined whether or not CBD and weed are kosher. This article will continue my series of posts concerning the relationship between CBD, cannabis, and spirituality by investigating if cannabis plant-derived CBD and hemp oil are allowed under Islamic religious law.

    What You Can Expect?

    CBD is best known. So, I specifically listed CBD in this article title. This article though is not limited to CBD as it also will evaluate whether or not hemp, hemp oil, hemp seed oil, and its derivatives are allowed under the Islamic faith. Additionally, as cannabis and CBD are so intertwined I am also going to review who the Islamic faith views intoxicating substances like cannabis.

    Disclaimer- I am also not an Iman or an Islamic Scholar. As such, this article is a summary of, the mainstream opinion, on what I learned concerning CBD and Islam. Additionally, the sources that I referenced are what I believed to be reputable. So, if you are serious about this matter please click the link for further research, or better yet consult your local Iman.

    Differing Views

    There are several sects of Islam, some of which have stricter interpretations of the Quaran and Islamic scripture. As a result, just like with Judaic law and Christianity, the Islamic views on CBD and cannabis-related products may differ between the different sects.

    What Are Haram and Halal?

    In simple terms, haram is what is considered to be forbidden under Islamic law. On the other hand, halal is the opposite as is what is allowed as prescribed in Islam’s Holy Book, The Quran.

    Halal and haram are used in all areas in Islam, and like in Christianity and Judaism, they are meant to govern an Islamists lifestyle. However, Haram and Hallam are most often heard in reference to food, food prep, etc.

    Mashbooh -To confuse you even more, Islamic law has a third-category Mashbooh, which could be considered a grey area. Mashboo is where it is not clear whether or not something is lawful or permitted. Here, in this article, you should only concern yourself with Haram and Haram.

    Halal Food Practices Law In a Nutshell

    Halal food prep can be complicated, as such there are several organizations that make their living ensuring that Halal food is prepared under Islamic principles. So, this is just a brief overview.

    What Food is Haram?

    Under Islam all food is considered to be halal except the following:

    • Pork and Pork By-Products
    • Livestock that is not slaughtered according to Hallal practices or meat that is butchered from an already dead animal.
    • Any intoxicating drink
    • Pests, like rats, scorpions, etc.
    • Any food that is contaminated by any haram food is prohibited by Islam.

    For the full list click here.

    Halal Certification

    Halal Certification

    Like Kosher, halal food also can be certified and there are various organizations that certify food as being halal. These organizations supervise various food facilities and make sure that all the proper procedures of halal food prep are followed.

    Upon approval, the organization can then be certified as Halal. The only real difference between Kosher and Halal certification is that prayer must be said after an animal is slaughtered in Islam.

    Reference Material-The majority of the findings below are gathered from a study, which surveyed Islamic scholars and asked their viewpoints on their viewpoint on cannabis use. It is from the very reputable, US Government scholarly website the US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.

    Is Cannabis Use Permitted In Islam?

    Weed and Islam-MMJ and Not Recreational

    Islam’s view on intoxication is quite helpful in helping you understand why CBD product use is controversial. That’s why I am devoting this section.

    Islam and Mind-Altering Drugs

    Alcohol, and its intoxicating effects, are specifically listed and forbidden in the Quaran. As such, because it is intoxicating, any form of alcohol is forbidden. Specifically, the Quaran states:

    “intoxicants . . . ” are “abominations of Satan’s handiwork”

    (Soura 5:90-91)

    Therefore, it is crystal clear that anything alcohol would be considered haram.

    What About Weed?

    The Quaran does not specifically mention cannabis as being forbidden. However, Islamic scholars have stated that mind-altering, recreational marijuana use, is forbidden. Therefore, the recreational use of cannabis, because of its THC content, is prohibited under Islam.

    Medical Marijuana Exception

    From the same referenced study (like is under Jewish law), the Muslim scholars permit cannabis use as long its use is supervised, scientifically justified, and only used for medicinal purposes. Additionally, to be extra safe, you should only use MMJ for serious, debilitating, conditions like chronic pain.

    Is CBD Oil, Hemp Oil, and Various Cannabis Derived Products Halal?

    Widespread, use of Cannabidiol (“CBD”), and Hemp is a new phenomenon. For example, CBD and hemp products have only recently become legal in the US. Therefore, because of ignorance, CBD is misunderstood by pretty much everyone. This Ignorance is not an exception with Islamic Scholars.

    Initially, it was reasoned, by a few Islamic scholars, that since CBD might contain traces of the haram Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), that pure CBD might also be forbidden. However, at least according to the previously mentioned study, this is not the case.

    Hardliners have argued, that as the THC intoxicant, shows up in trace amounts in some pure CBD and hemp oil that CBD is not haram. Luckily, this hardline train of thought is not common. Per this referenced study, THC consumption is not a sin if the amount is so small that it is essentially not detectable or does not have any effect on the user.

    Is CBD Oil Halal or Haram?

    To get straight to the point, based upon the above and various other resources, CBD, hemp oil is halal as long is it prepared under the halal principles of food prep.

    You should not assume this though as it is not always easy to know what is actually permitted or not. For example, gelatin is made of pork by-products and is also used to make various popular candies, like jelly beans, licorice, and also gummy candies. So, your CBD gummies bears would be haram if they contain gelatin.

    Final Thoughts

    CannabiNaturals™ Premium 1,000mg Peppermint Hemp Oil for Anxiety, Pain Relief, Mood Support, Muscle & Joint Health, Vegan | Kosher | Halal

    First of all, consults your Iman or do some intense research if you are serious about following Islam or any religion. With that out of the way, pure CBD (AKA-CBD Isolate), and not* broad spectrum CBD, is relatively safe for you to consume CBD. Additionally, to be extra safe, you should look into CBD and CBD hemp oil certified products like this hemp oil that is shown above.

    *Broad Spectrum CBD- IS CBD that contains trace amounts of THC.

     


    Top 10 Newbie Friendly Cannabis Seeds

    • Are you going to start growing for the first time?
    • Have you previously have had subpar growing results?
      If so, check out this list ASAP!
    Best Weed Strains