Is CBD Oil Kosher?

Affiliate Disclosure-Keep in mind that we may receive commissions when you click our links and make purchase. However, this does not impact our reviews and comparisons. We try our best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.

Contents

Top 10 Newbie Friendly
Cannabis Seeds

  • Are you going to start growing for the first time?
  • Have you previously have had subpar growing results?


If so, check out this list ASAP!

    We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Is CBD Oil, Hemp Extract, and Other Cannabis Products Kosher?

    Previously, I have written a few articles pertaining to cannabis and spirituality. For example, I wrote this, somewhat, tongue in cheek article on if weed smokers will go to hell or not. As a result, I decided to go further into this trend and do some research on whether or not CBD oil and its cousin hemp oil are in fact Kosher.


    Disclaimer- I’m not a religious scholar and am not even Jewish. The information here, particularly about certification, is from reputable sources. However, some of the religious questions, like if cannabis is kosher are a bit controversial, and every Rabbi or religious scholar agrees. So, if you don’t agree with my conclusions or if you are just curious please continue your research by following the links here.


    What is Kosher?

    If you are Jewish you likely know this already. So, feel free to skip this section. However, if you are not Jewish this section will give you a start for learning about Kosher and Kosher certification.

    Kashrut and Kosher Defined

    Kashrut is the body of laws, which state what food should not be eaten and Kosher describes how food can meet Kashrut standards. Kosher has both a secular and non-secular definition. Its secular definition simply means that something is done correctly. And it’s religious meaning is listed below:

    Kosher-Kosher is a set of Judaic laws, on food and preparation, and concerns what and how food should be eaten.

    Kosher Food Requirements

    if The following is a brief summary of Kosher food laws. It is not meant to be an “ultimate guide”. So, if you want more info, I would suggest that you consult your local Rabbi and/ or follow this link.

    Forbidden Foods

    You likely know that pork is not Kosher. However, under Kosher laws, shellfish, insects, and reptiles are also forbidden.

    Basic Kosher Food Prep

    Kosher food prep can be complex. So, I will only briefly summarize the most important aspects of Kosher food prep requirements.

    • Kosher Slaughter Methods-Animals must be slaughtered using a shechita knife to slit the throat using a specialized technique.
    • Food Pairings– Certain foods should never be mixed together. The most common example is that meat and dairy products cannot be in the same recipe or eaten at the same time.
    • Separate Equipment-You must purchase separate kitchen equipment and utensils for dairy and meat. And you need to make sure that these separate items do not touch and then that the food prep area is spotless.

    Everything Must Be Pure

    This is where it gets tricky as for a food to be truly kosher all parts, which means every ingredient, of a particular food item must be prepared according to Jewish laws. As an example, otherwise, a cake that is Kosher might turn into a non-kosher if artificial flavor is added.

    Kosher Certification

    As you have seen, Kosher food preparation is quite complex and requires extreme attention to detail. For your own kitchen, following the rules is hard. But, doable.

    How can consumers ensure that they are actually purchasing Kosher-approved food? The answer to this question is Kosher Certification This food is certified as being Kosher by a Rabbi, employed by an agency, that inspects the kitchen or food prep area.

    The Rabbi and certification agency certifies three foods that are grouped in the following categories.

    •     Meat

    •     Dairy

    •     Pareve

    Cannabinoid (“CBD”), hemp seed oil, and cannabis oil, and plaint cannabis flower all fall under the Pareve category.

    Certification Is Not Required

    Certification is not required for foods to be labeled as kosher products, and it is likely not necessary if you know a certain food’s origins. However, Kosher certification is helpful if you do not know of a foods exact origins.

    Is CBD Oil Kosher?

    Kosher Hemp Extract

    Raw Hemp Oil - 100MG - Cinnamint Flavor - Mushroom Infused for Enhanced Efficacy, Made in USA - Rich in Omega 3-6-9 Fatty Acids, Kosher, Non-GMO. White Cedar Naturals

    As stated CBD, hemp oil and marijuana and edibles (i.e. CBD gummies, CBD cookies, cannabis gummies, etc.) fall under the pareve class of foods. To pass the Kosher standards, pareve must meet the following qualifications:

    • Seperate-Pareves products must be separated from equipment that is used in processing dairy or meat.
    • No Bugs-An products cannot contain any insects or insect, by-products, like larvae.

    Therefore, as long as it fulfills the above standards, CBD products, whether it is CBD gummy bears, CBD tinctures, hemp extract, etc., are Kosher.

    Can You Purchase Certified Kosher CBD Products?

    Yes. Certain items like hemp seed do not ordinarily require certification. As a result, certain agencies, like EarthKosher only certify the extraction process and the by-products that are made from.

    Final Thoughts

    Based upon my research, whether or not CBD and CBD products are Kosher depends upon how they’re prepared. And, as a general rule the more preparation a product requires, the more likely it is to be non-kosher.

    For example, hemp seeds will likely be kosher. But, CBD oil and hemp oil extract might not be the opposite. My parting advice is to consult your Rabbi if you have any questions concerning if consuming a certain CBD or frankly any type of food is appropriate under Jewish law.


    APPENDIX

    Forget About CBD, Are THC and Cannabis Considered to Be Kosher?

    As you might have guessed whether or not weed is kosher is quite controversial. And depending upon what Rabbi you talk to you could have several different answers. Whether or not consuming cannabis is Kosher depends upon how the plants are grown, the reason for smoking weed, and how weed is being used. Each of these will be explained below:

    How Is Cannabis Being Grown?

    First of all, weed, if it is prepped under Kosher laws, is okay. There are a few obscure exceptions. One of which, which applies only in Israel, is that every seven years you should not farm on the land where you grow weed.

    Other than that, if the final cannabis products are pure, they will be considered to be kosher and Certification is not required.

    Why Are You Smoking Weed?

    Recreational Marijuana is illegal in Israel. However, medical marijuana has been legal for medical purposes since the 1990s. Part of Judaic law is to keep a healthy body. And because of misinformation, weed is considered by many Rabbis to be unhealthy. Therefore, the recreational use of marijuana is a sin.

    However, prescription medical marijuana is allowed for medicinal purposes. The reason is that smoking, Doctor prescribed weed is considered healthy, and is not considered a sin but in fact following a “mitzvah” (Following Jewish Law).

    How Are You Taking Your Medicinal Marijuana?

    Marijuana is considered a Kosher product when the final product is pure cannabis flower or is made under strict Kosher food prep standards. As a result, it is pretty easy to grow Judaic-friendly marijuana. So, to be labeled as Kosher edibles must fulfill all of the strict requirements that traditional Kosher products have to undergo.

     


    Top 10 Newbie Friendly Cannabis Seeds

    • Are you going to start growing for the first time?
    • Have you previously have had subpar growing results?
      If so, check out this list ASAP!
    Best Weed Strains